New In Nash: This Week In New Music

By Aaron Wagner

We are two weeks out from Lee Brice officially releasing his next album Hey World but in the meantime, he gives us two great tracks from that project this week by releasing “Soul” and “Do Not Disturb.”

Each week Shenandoah releases a new song from their collaborations album it’s a pleasure to see who we’re going to hear from next. This week it’s Blake Shelton joining them on a timeless sounding song “Then A Girl Walks In.”

MacKenzie Porter should be a household name and hopefully it’s not long before she is. She released a new project this week The Drinking Songs: The Collection, which includes all of her recent releases over the last year or so, including a new song “The One.”

90s Country star Collin Raye is releasing a new album in two weeks and continues to give us sneak peaks, this week by releasing “Loved by an Angel.” New duo Seaforth dropped a groovy and seductive jam this week with their new one “Close Enough.”

The Swon Brothers released one of their best songs to date. Written by Corey Crowder, Jimi Westbrook and Philip Sweet from Little Big Town, and FGL’s Tyler Hubbard, “Best of the Best” is absolutely made for country radio. Billy Ray Cyrus released a gritty five song EP this week which includes “99 Single Wide”, written by hit songwriter Casey Beathard.

My 3 Favorite Songs from Country Risers:

“Hey Moon” – Randall King: This dude can sing the hell out of a song. Randall has a timeless voice and pours his heart out in this song as he’s singing to the moon wondering if a girl is also looking at the moon, wondering about him. It’s a sneaky beautiful song that is really sweet.

“Same Dirt Road” – Eric Lee: Some songs just have that catchy X-factor and that’s what Eric has with his debut song. I can’t even describe it properly, but he has this sound that is uniquely him. “Same Dirt Road” has some influences of Sam Hunt production styles but his voice has Lee Brice and Kip Moore sounds. It’s an awesome sound and can’t wait to hear future releases.

“I Should Be Asleep” – Ian McConnell and Haley Mae Campbell: These two rising artists have been working so hard this year, continuing to releases new music on a regular basis and was happy to see them collaborate together. This new song is a fun song about those early stages of hanging out with someone when you realize you’re catching feelings. Also, there voices go so well together…so more collabs in the future please!